School’s Out (Nearly)

school-clipart-school-for-freeI admit I have been very busy again with personal life, trying to get into shape, in work getting super busy and furthermore my child hitting that “end of school itch.” It seems he has become an emotional wreck that one would expect from a teenage girl.

Example: His teacher sent home the lyrics to “Lean On Me” which his class will be singing for the end of the year assembly and it was asked that students please take a few moments each night to go over the lyrics. Easy enough right? So as we’re heading into bedtime I tell him we’ll change things up and sing the song tonight together. What I thought was going to be a harmonious melody of love between a mother and child turns into a disaster and asking why he’s adding words (but encouraging him along.) I kissed him goodnight and told him we’d keep working on it.  I went for a bath to unwind when I hear a scuffle upstairs a few minutes later thinking he had gotten out of bed to go to the bathroom. Upon getting out of the bath I find my husband holding kleenex to our child’s nose shaking his head in annoyance. Apparently my son didn’t appreciate my help and sat upstairs angrily crying afterwards so hard that he gave himself a nosebleed. I was perplexed as I was overly encouraging while my insides cringed at the fact that he has no rhythm nor pitch. I told him he was doing a great job and asked why he didn’t like me helping… he simply stated “you helped me too much!” Of course at this time I’m wanting to reach for a bottle of wine and beat myself over the head with it.

Further examples: Playing tag, dodge-ball, any game where everyone doesn’t win right now is just pointless because it’ll end up in tears. I pretty much want to ban my kid from any gym games but of course I can’t do that. I tell him that everyone is going to get caught or be out and I simply get him growling at me and walking away. It seems that everything lately is ticking him off and he just melts down over it. I try to talk to him but his reasoning is that of a child (obviously.)

Bed times have seemingly become earlier as he passes out at 7:20pm and I’m dragging his butt out of bed for school 12 hours later. I understand that he’s sick and tired of school but he’s going to have a long summer of camp (which mom is the director/manager of.) It’ll be much more laid back as school, there will be more free time, field trips, swimming trips every week, but I’m sure he’ll be just as burnt out. I’m looking forward to weekends that will be spent in play this summer, some camping trips, fishing, and even a vacation at the end of the summer will hopefully get everyone back on track for the new school year.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

