I have a shape therefore I am in shape?

girl smiling exercising with dumbbell clipart

There’s nothing more precious than having a long day and snuggling up to your child right before bed to read them a story. You’ve had an incredibly hard day and just need a moment of love from your darling child of whom you would give your life for. As you gently put your arm around them and they snuggle into you they proclaim “mommy you have squishy arms!” At that moment you want to throw the book across the room, get up and scream “f*** you! How is that even possible considering all I ever do is carry your sh*t around all day!?” Instead you take this “fat shaming” to heart and start working out. Or at least that was my case. There’s nothing like having a scrawny child call you out on some extra squish… especially when you take it to heart which I did.

I was feeling rather defeated about a month ago, my husband would work out next to me rolling 80+ dumbbell curls while I was barely doing 5lbs. My upper body strength doesn’t exist. What needs to be remembered and drilled into every single person out there when it comes to fitness is that EVERYONE starts somewhere and that somewhere is usually damn near the bottom. Don’t get discouraged. You’re going to pick those weights up and hate it, but if you continue picking them up and putting them down you’re going to get better, you’re going to get stronger. I started with barely being able to pick up 5lbs in each hand to curl, my squats were pretty horrible as well (because who in the heck actually likes doing squats?) After giving myself some pep talk and motivation I kept with it. Now I’m doing 150 squats with 20lbs in each hand. I’m able to do 15-20lb curls. My arms are less flabby and are slowly getting there and I’m finding myself a little happier with the reflection in the mirror.

Added bonus of trying to motivate yourself up for working out… go get a cute workout outfit, it actually helps quite a bit 😉 just make sure if you’re doing cardio that you don’t opt for a yoga bra which has 0 support or you’ll find yourself holding onto your girls as you run.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Parenting, Sarcasm and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

