That Kid…

PVZ_Zombie_Suit.pngSo I got a lovely email sent to me by my child’s teacher. She informed me that a mother came forward whom was concerned because my child was talking about zombies and scary clowns and had scared her child and that her child was now having nightmares. I kind of rolled my eyes and wanted to say “well so and so’s kid better toughen up because the world is full of monsters” or even more blatantly “tell your kid not to be a pu$$y.” Oi.

Of course I gave the appropriate response that I would talk to my son about this. I’m not some ignorant parent who’s like “omg where does he get this from” because the arrow is pointing right back at ME! My husband and I are horror fanatics, zombies, ghouls, my house is decorated with friggan skull decor. There’s no doubt. My son is a lover of Halloween and all things scary, this doesn’t mean that he’s sitting down with us and watching The Walking Dead by any means but yes I am aware that he has snuck upstairs while we’ve been watching it and have been slow to pause it. He’s seen the white walkers on Game Of Thrones, he’s watched some Five Nights At Freddy’s game play on youtube (which was quickly stopped.)

I told him he wasn’t in trouble and to keep the whole zombie and scary stuff at home and that it doesn’t need to be at school because some children are sensitive which he nodded and agreed. Whether or not he cans it I guess we’ll see when I get another inbox from his teacher.

In all horrible honesty I’m glad my kid isn’t on the receiving end of things with this one, that he isn’t the kid who hears this kind of thing and goes home and has nightmares and wakes up in the middle of the night screaming because of what another 6 year old said. I was a kid who thought the boogie man lived in my closet and had to leap out of bed in fear of being dragged under the bed by some demon who would take me to the depths of god knows where.

I’ve come to find that there’s two types of children out there these days… ones that are totally desensitized to fear and others who are afraid of their own shadow. Unfortunately for me with school related reports it’s going to be my kid jumping out of the shadows and scaring the shit out of the other kids.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Little Boys, Parenting, Society and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

