It Does Get Quieter

…it just takes a few years.

Hey mom’s… don’t think that the constant child needing your full attention is going to last forever. I promise a day will come where you child is old enough and independent enough that they don’t need to be in your line of sight to survive. That the golden silence that you crave will come and that nothing will be wrong, that your child will be playing quietly on their own.

There will come a day where you can sleep in, where even if your child wakes up early you can trust them to do their own thing without destroying the house or being unsafe.

You will be capable of having a day where you can physically be in your house with your child and simply do nothing and relax and enjoy some peace.

That’s what I did today; I’m exhausted from meetings this week at work, beyond the full moon delight that seems to put children in moods that make you suddenly believe that lycanthrophy is a real thing.  Last Saturday I was in a course for nearly 9 hours and last Sunday I had a day of running errands and getting things done. Today I said to hell with it and I made it a me day. I didn’t bother getting dressed, I had a nice long bath, a read, a played on my phone and all the while my son played quietly on his own and it’s been blissful.

You can do this too, do it and don’t feel guilty about it. You’re not neglecting your child by wanting some time to yourself, they’re allowed to play on their own and be left to their own devices without you entertaining them for the day. In fact it’s good for the both of you, so don’t forget that a well rested mom is a much more patient mom.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

