Wow It’s Been So Long!

I know right? Where did I go? What happened?

Well… let’s look at what happened in life.

Hubby went back to school to get training to become a heavy equipment operator.

We both left our jobs that were making us incredibly unhappy, we now work better hours and make more money and all in all are happier people.

2015 was the worst year ever.

My best friend in the entire world moved away (along with her husband and little girl.) This left myself and my kiddo incredibly devastated as we both lost our best friend. Since we were neighbors I dealt with having to walk past their place every day and my son asking where aunty and his cousin were.

My grandfather became ill and was hospitalized, as this time my son ended up with pneumonia and I couldn’t go see him for a week because I didn’t want to get him sick. Furthermore once we were better I began visiting him twice a day to spend time with him. After a botched surgery and hospital screw ups there was no way to deny he was dying.

At this time there was mold found in my son’s room which became a 3 month dramatic disaster involving strata and a restoration company who further messed up the room so we had our son sleeping in our room on a cot since the wall was half take out of his (did I mention this was about mid February?)

My grandfather’s condition worsened, we said goodbye at the hospital and thought he was going to pass… he didn’t. He was moved to hospice which was a few blocks down from my house. My mother was an absolute wreck (as was my grandmother) so my uncle and I took up spending time with him in the hospice. My son visited him a few times but as his condition became worse the visits stopped happening. My grandfather passed away 5 days before my son’s 5th birthday.

His birthday was lack luster as we took him to a large tourist trap 2 towns over which had tons of dinosaurs around the playground. He was so happy but considering it was the day after my grandfather’s funeral the feeling was rather dull. The family put on a good show for him. This was the end of April 2015

Kindergarten came and to my luck my son got an out of this world kindergarten teacher who was my savior. She understood that he was an out of the box child and embraced and loved him for all his unique attributes. From making zombie teddy bears to wanted to be a special FX artist where all the other kids wanted to be doctors or mommy’s she immersed herself and encouraged his individuality.

2016 was the year of renovations. I had told my husband that if I had to have another Christmas in the townhouse we were in that I would stab myself (I wasn’t kidding.) The market was finally on the rise so we started the super annoying process of gutting and renovating the townhouse in hopes that we could get out of there as the strata was going to absolute hell to the point that we were concerned with a possible $5,000 levi hanging over our heads to fix the building. We re-did the entire kitchen, bathrooms, and re-painted the entire house.

Late July 2016 the market had finally picked up and we listed the place… it sold in 4 days and on the day it sold we found our dream home for the price that was right. Then came the process of moving (which was no fun at all.)

September 19 2016 we were moved into our new house and deeply concerned for our child’s well being as for the past few months he had been suffering stomach and headaches. He had been back and forth to the doctor nearly every week with continuous blood tests that didn’t give us any answers. In the end it was merely the stress of the house being torn apart, packing, and moving… thank goodness.

I now sit here today in my new home typing this as I had completely forgotten The Vanity Mom blog.

In the next while I’ll re-account everything that I’ve gone through with my son and husband in detail. From loss, depression, hopelessness, loneliness, to how I dealt with a million and one questions about death, to renovating with a child running around the house like crazy and much more.

I am happy to be back and writing again.

 

 

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Kids Are Weird, Little Boys, Parenting, Venting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

