A True Mother’s Day Post

So my mothers day long weekend wasn’t exactly glamorous by any means. All supposed activities were cancelled and I even opted out of having my gift picked up, at the end of the day I was beyond tired and simply wanted to sit down. Why is this? Because I am a mom. Because I had a little boy who ended up with a touch of heatstroke. It began Friday night when he gave me the early gift of rein acting a scene from The Exorcist which ended up with mom wearing more puke than she ever desired, my husband cleaned up the floor (and everything else that was in range of being a vomit target) as I took him upstairs to bathe… it was a very late night. Saturday my son was less than compliant as he complained of a headache, being cold (even though it was 30c outside) and wanted to go for an early nap which in the end mom happily obliged but only got to lay down for maybe an hour.

I did get to go out dancing Saturday night as dad took the reins and held down the fort as Mr. cranky pants went to bed fairly early. After a night of coming home late and crawling into bed even later my son was up with the birds and came into the bedroom yelling “mommy” at the top of his lungs. My husband did try to allow me a little more sleep but apparently couldn’t outwit our 3 year old as he ended up back in the bedroom beckoning for me to get up. The weather wasn’t compliant with my plans to go out and enjoy a trek across some suspension bridges (especially with a 3 year old) so that was scratched off the list right away, we ended up going out for a bit with plans to grab my mother’s day gift (since I knew what I wanted and my husband agreed it would be easier if I were to just show him.) Unfortunately a little someone wasn’t exactly feeling up to par so we came home. After much whining my son wanted to go for a nap which I was happy with because I was so tired and could use the sleep, unfortunately it was all of an hour long nap (just enough time for me to fall into a good sleep to be woken up again with “MOMMY!”)

Of coursed when your child has heatstroke they want nothing to eat or drink so there was a special trip made to McDonalds for french-fries and cream soda, those were eaten in the car as mom and daddy drove around because he was finally content with eating and drinking and we didn’t want to break stride. There was much soothing as my child cried and whined in my arms that he didn’t feel well, as I coaxed him into drinking more fluids as his tears soaked my shirt. There have been many instances where he’s gotten upset because I haven’t been dead on with my mommy senses knowing exactly what he wants. I must say dinner was good even though it was simple and eaten quickly, it turned out to be the most peaceful part of the day since kiddo was on the couch watching Land Before Time.

Now here I sit, tired as heck and not looking like I had a blissful, enjoyable mother’s day… but my son is feeling better, he’s smiling and laughing now and running around which makes it all worth it, I would give a day for time anytime… because I am his mom.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

