Bipolar About Daycare

SpiderMan_Lunch_Bag_1It’s come up that I have the opportunity (and I say opportunity for a reason) to put my son into daycare. With life forever changing, prospects of new jobs, and my grandparents who have been babysitting him getting older it’s come up that the best thing for him would be daycare/preschool. I do fully agree, since I only have one friend my age with a child my son’s age he hasn’t had the chance to really make friends or socialize, this would be excellent for him.

As a mom I’m totally going through what seems bipolar emotions of my “baby” going off to daycare. I’m sure the mere thought of it has aged me 5 years, it’s daunting to think of my child being in an organized group setting with other children. I dread the thought of him having temper tantrums, time outs, and hitting. My child has funny quirks like for some reason he doesn’t pull his own pants up after he’s done in the bathroom, he calls pinecones “kookooks” and thinks that his stuffed Tiger is real. Even writing this entry is giving me gray hair.

There’s also the opposite side of the spectrum, the pride, the joy of him coming into being his own person. The thoughts of a newer wardrobe, how fun it’ll be to pack lunches, going out and having him pick out a backpack and lunchbox, having him come home with crafts and making new friends.

Even in working with kids my entire adult career I’ve seen it all and I’m sure that those working in the daycare have also seen their fair share of WTF’s but I’m positive it’ll be my child who pulls a new one.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

