Grandma’s Rights

Parents, you need to know this now, read it, embrace it, and accept it. It is a grandmother’s right to spoil your child. We always wonder why grandma is always the favourite family member, what she magically holds up her sleeve that leaves children forgetting about their mothers and have them running into the arms of their grandma’s… it’s because grandmother’s are allowed to break every rule in the book and there’s not a damn thing you can do about it.

Here’s what I’ve come to accept and expect, every time my child goes out with grandma he’s coming home with a new toy . Does my child NEED more toys? No, in fact he could easily go with a lot LESS. My mother cannot tell her grandson “no.” I really fail to understand this as I was told no all the time through growing up, I didn’t get a power wheels, I didn’t get an Ipod or whatever else “I” world had out then, and I certainly didn’t get every little thing within reach that my eyes lit up to. Then again I remember it bineg this way with MY grandmother.

I have also expect that any trip ANYWHERE will include fast food, candy, ice cream, and my child enjoying something that I would never allow in my house or my child to eat, such as pop. I allow him Ginger Ale when he’s sick, when he’s with grandma I KNOW she’s sharing Pepsi with him rather than getting him orange or apple juice. Either way Grandma can get a picky child to eat with incredible ease while mom pulls her hair out even trying.

I can expect that he’s going to come home and jump on the couch and on the bed because grandma has magical furniture of which she allows her grandchild to jump on and destroy even though I very much remember getting a dirty look when I had my feet on such things.

I can also expect that my child is going to sleep that night because in the years between leaving home and having my child my mother has regained her super strength which she once had before children weighed her down and made her tired. She can run a child to the point of exhaustion where they become quiet, compliant and tired. (And yet when I try and take this woman to the mall she complains when I don’t park in the nearest stall.)

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Grandparents, Parenting, Picky Eater, Sarcasm, Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

