Motherhood Reality Of Having A 2 Year Old.

When I first got pregnant I gushed with joy at the thought that I would have a beautiful little person to accompany me through life…

I thought I would have a shopping companion of which I could go to the mall with, instead I have a child who obnoxiously makes rude noises and announces his bodily functions while in public. Nothing says “enjoyable mall strolling” with a kid calling out in their stroller “mom I farted! Mom I pooed!”

I thought I would have someone to have fun lunch dates with, instead I have a child who turns his nose at his food that I either order or make for him, insists that he sits on my lap, and eats MY food.

I thought I would have a buddy to take to the park and watch joyfully, instead I have a child who tries to eat sand, runs off, and when its time to leaves throws such a huge tantrum that I wonder who’s stupid idea it was to go to the park in the first place.

I thought I would have a friend to snuggle up with and watch cartoons with, instead I have a child who smashes the back of his head into my face/nose while trying to snuggle and insists that we watch Elmo or Thomas.

What I thought and what I got were two different things but I also got a child who gives the best hugs in the world, who slays me while dancing to music like he’s a mini Lord Of The Dance, who melts my heart when he tells me he loves me, and who gives me infinite hours of joy (even if he’s not a great mall companion he’ll eventually learn as mommy does.)

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Sarcasm and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Motherhood Reality Of Having A 2 Year Old.

  1. Enjoy your child. It sounds like he can be challenging at times. That’s children. I am sure you can watch Elmo with him sometimes. Before you know it, the litte red creature will drive you crazy!

  2. Hop Dad says:

    Wow, this sounds familiar. Our ideas of what parenting will be get demolished pretty quickly, and that’s ok.

    http://hopdad.com/2012/01/16/no-no-dada-this-way/

Leave a Reply

