Back On Picky Eating

Oh the trials of a picky eater, I fully believe it goes full circle. I’m learning, taking notes from others and passing on what I’ve learned, so far this is has been my life of a picky eater.

The basics: cooking a basic meal, breakfast for one. I went back to the basics today because as great an amazing some products are that you don’t have to cook or merely heat up in the microwave or toaster my child seems to love them one day and not even care the next. This morning instead of a toaster strudel I actually cooked scrambled eggs and hash browns, to my surprise he actually sat down and ate it. Remember to praise your child when they’re actually eating, let them know that their eating makes YOU happy. Also accept what they’ve ate, don’t get upset about wasting food (they can pick up when you’re teeved.) At least they got something into their body.

Be clever: child not eating or getting enough calories? Then buy high calorie food, stop buying yogurt that’s 35 calories per serving and buy the stuff that’s packed with 130 calories. YOU don’t need to eat it but your child sure does. Are they hooked on eating raw veggies? Give them something to dip it in! They always stealing food off your plate? Then make yourself a little bit more and offer them your plate to eat off of (hey whatever works.)

Be sneaky: look around at protein powders (I mix some chocolate stuff into my child’s milk and voila, not only more calories, nutrients and protein BUT it tastes like chocolate milk!) Instead of making soups with water add in some milk or cream, and with making pasta load on the shredded cheese!

Be stocked: variety means your child is BOUND to want SOMETHING that’s in the cupboard. Don’t feel guilty about not buying name brand pudding packs, or granola bars, they can’t tell the difference.

Take them out:my son loves McDonalds chicken nuggets, its my last back-up plan when I fail all day to get him to eat more than a few bites of ANYTHING. Just because I’m getting HIM something doesn’t mean I need to feel obligated to get something for myself.  Yes, I’ll feed my child fast food, I do not feel guilty nor do I think I’m a horrible mother for doing so. Its all about moderation and right now its all about getting my child to eat SOMETHING!

Be patient: it won’t be like this forever… or so I’m told.

When everything else fails, go back to the basics.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Picky Eater and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

