Entertaining Your 2 Year Old During A Heatwave

Where have I gone? Life has been a little crazy in the household lately, between work schedules MAJORLY changing, having a child running around, trying to reorganize the entire house, and trying to keep said 2 year old entertained while we hit our usual scorching highs here.

Entertaining a two year old isn’t at all easy to do, it seems like my kid has the attention span of a Nat when it comes to doing anything other than watching Elmo’s World and Thomas And Friends.

The other day I decided to entertain us both and took out a bunch of pillows and blankets and made a fort, it was great for the first three minutes until he decided he didn’t want to duck down to get in it and walked THROUGH it.

Blocks are great but I get maybe around 10 minutes of actual building out of them until they become weapons, nothing like Mega Blocks being launched in the air and bouncing off walls and furniture when you’re trying for some peaceful playtime.

Don’t even get me started on the ridiculous amounts of cars and trucks and trains this child has. The ramps and play sets he has are great for the few moments they stay snapped together then I hear the infamous “uh oh” as he walks away from the “broken” toy.

Then there was the pool incident, my son wanted in the pool. So after battling with the patio door which for whatever stupid reason decided to come OFF the track, I brought the pool inside, scrubbed it clean (since it had some algae in it.) Then I brought it back onto the deck, took 15 minutes filling it since we don’t have a hose on the deck so I had to fill up buckets, all to have my son outside for 10 minutes DUMPING the water OUT of the pool instead of sitting in the pool and enjoying it.

Luckily the heat wave is on its way out and I can finally enjoy being civil and take him to the beach again (today’s plans) just to watch him play in the mud for hours on end. Whatever works.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

