Parent Badge: Taking Your Child Into Emergency

The first time you ever have to take your child into emergency at the hospital is a very defining moment as a parent. I had the pleasure of earning this badge last night,  my son had a very nasty rash which just wasn’t sitting well with me, it was a target rash and it had pretty much spotted itself well over half his body. It was horrible looking, in fact I thought it was Lyme Disease. We had been in the bush a week earlier, it looked exactly the same, and of course being a worried parent that was enough to scare me into putting myself through hell by taking him in.

First thing that defines you is what you quickly pack in the kids diaper bag… I had a genius moment and packed the portable dvd player which got us through the first hour of hell as I awkwardly sat in the waiting room with 30 other people who had broken bones, and other issues which I really tired to ignore. Not because I’m heartless but because it gets me queasy when I think about it. (yes this is the same chick who can pull splinters, pop blisters, squeeze pus out of infections, and deal with loads of blood gushing everywhere.)

Of course the entire hospital where I live has been renovated, you don’t know where the hell you’re going, there’s signs that point one way and then the other. The second defining moment is keeping your cool as you’re frustration level is growing to the point of you screaming “where the hell am I going?” In the middle of a busy hospital. Even when your child has had enough and thinks that its time to run wild through the hallway instead of sitting, you need to remain patient and unmoved. Like you have everything under control all while you feel like breaking down.

The third defining moment is your grace, you’ve told your story to twenty different doctors and nurses but you will continue to repeat yourself with cause and concern when asked. When your child dumps the biggest and nastiest load you simply exclaim that he needs a diaper change and afterwards you even walk to the sink and wash your hands calmly. When you finally do walk out of there you thank everyone for their time and efforts for making things as quick and painless as possible.

In the end my child had a really bad reaction to who knows what… it wasn’t ring worm, Lyme, or anything else… and so I write this entry with a rum and coke in hand as a parental reward for surviving tonight solo as hubby had to work. Cheers.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parent Badge: Taking Your Child Into Emergency

  1. you did all of that solo??!?! oh that earned a medal – you should have mentioned that in the beginning! I have been to ‘after-care’ as it’s called w/ our health insurance but not solo. of course it takes on a whole new light when you have to take two kids – but I still don’t think it was as bad as your experience… congrats! you’ve crossed over 🙂

Leave a Reply

