Unwanted Parenting Advice

I’m pretty sure everyone out there whom has a child has someone in their life who LOVES dishing out parenting advice to the point where you simply clench your fists and grit your teeth. Its especially hard when this is someone dear to you and whom you would never want to share any words of harshness with. For me, that person is the person that I hold above pretty much everyone else, my lovely grandmother. Since my child was born I have been harped upon for the smallest things, from not feeding my child meat at the age of 8 months because it was slightly smoked (ham no less.) To not having grips on his socks because we have a hardwood floor (in which he NEVER wears socks.) To yesterday that I didn’t have any juice boxes in the house. Honestly I’ve given up with juice boxes as they seem that they’re dumped and left forgotten more than they’re drank so I’ve been simply giving him concentrate in his sippy cup.

I think the best thing about it is she always warns me before hand that its coming because I get the “now I don’t mean to nag/harp/ question you as a mother…” and then its on. This way I know that I can leash my temper, take deep breaths and simply nod without taking anything she says to heart, because if I did I would most likely lose my temper and yell at my loving little grandmother.

Unfortunately the way today works its rare that one can be a stay at home mom with an onsite father figure, so I work, another thing that my grandmother thinks is ridiculous. I do it because I want to be able to give my son everything he needs (sans juice boxes.) Does that make me a horrible mother? By all means no, but in my grandmother’s eyes I could always be doing better, I chalk this up to the fact that even my mother went through this with raising me, there was always something she could be doing better and true enough I’m sure every parent out there can say “I can do this better” but you know what? If your child is happy, healthy, and in a safe and loving environment then you’re doing a swell job.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Society and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unwanted Parenting Advice

  1. Meghan says:

    “If your child is happy, healthy, and in a safe and loving environment then you’re doing a swell job.” Amen to that! I am also a working mother and get probed with advice from all directions. I’ve learned to take it all with a grain of salt. Thank them for their advice and store it away. It’s your choice to use it or not. 🙂

    P.S. Love your little blurb about yourself at the page footer…. our son is biting now too… oh man it hurts and its always at the most convenient times!

Leave a Reply

