The Story Of A Stuffed Duck

So the other day my son’s favourite stuffy (his plush duck that quacks) ended up dying, he was mortified and I was heart broken and hated listening to “mommy make ducky work” “ducky no work” “quack ducky quack!” His best friend in whom he sleeps with and drags around first thing in the morning had gone silent. To be honest it didn’t really surprise me, the duck itself was over 12 years old and was actually an Easter gift from a high school boyfriend, it was going to crap out someday. Unfortunately the duck had no seam to open up and get to the mechanism, I figured it was toast and started the online search for a replica which would cost a ridiculous amount with shipping so that search soon came to an end, I then went to all the toy stores in town to see about quacking ducks (of course it isn’t Easter time so my searching was for nothing.) Finally feeling emotional myself as my child plopped his duck in my lap and said “ducky no quack” my husband intervened into the situation. He told me that there HAD to be some sort of battery in the mechanism (like a super battery that lasts 12 years.) He gently took a box cutter to the seam of the duck and unstuffy him finding the mechanism to which we found it took 3 lithium watch like batteries. Off to the mall we ran to spend a near $21 on 3 freaking batteries, and the duck was perfectly sewn back together by super dad and my child was gleaming that his best friend was quacking again.

I told this story to my co-worker yesterday in which she replied “you know you go way too out of your way for your child, if his toy is broken he needs to learn to live with it.” Last time I checked dead batteries didn’t exactly mean broken, nor do I think its fair for a 2 year old to “live with” his teddy bear like toy that he carts around all over the place to be broken. Then again my co-worker has her two 25 and 23 year old sons living with her mooching off her, in which I would tell her “tell your boys to be men and get the hell out of your house.”

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Toys and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

