It’s JUST a Spring Cold

Oh the joys of spring time and first spring cold’s, and if your family is as “involved” as mine with the raising of your child/ren then you’re sure to hear their opinions on your child’s health a million times over. My son caught a basic sniffle and cough thanks to his little cousin whom caught it from daycare, she was taken in and it was confirmed that it was merely a spring cold. As my son started coughing and sniffling hubby and I did the usual remedies, the children’s Vicks on the feet with socks, lots of steaming, humidifier in his room, elevated sleeping, and since then he’s started to recover (and got his parents sick.) My grandmother thinks my child is dying of whooping cough (although I’m rather sure she has never actually come across with a child WITH the cough as my son’s is phlegmy.) I try and ease her mind saying its just a cold, I’m dismissed with me swearing on my life that I’ll take him into the doctor… my MOTHER diagnoses it as bronchitis in which I try and tell her that is merely a spring cold, yet again I’m making false promises to take him to the walk in.

So why am I being a horrible parent and not taking my child to the doctor? One, because he’s getting better. two, because he hasn’t had a fever, his nose is running clear, and because it’s not at all slowing him down. Three, because I think it’ll do more harm and be a total annoyance to sit with my son in a clinic for 2 hours waiting for an appointment as he runs around MORE sick people. So in lucky conclusion my husband has an actual appointment tomorrow with our family doctor so I’m going to go along and see if he can take a quick look at our son… I know what he’ll say “its just a cold” as they’ve ALL been “just colds.” Yet for some reason the more experienced family members always tend to think my son has the plague every time the kid sneezes.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Health, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

