Have You Seen This Toy?

So my grandmother got my son onto this annoying path of amusement when it comes to the microwave, at her house she lets him press the buttons (shows him which ones to press) to turn it on so it does it thing and then beeps, he quite likes the “beeping” part of the whole charade. I found this harmless until my son started re-arranging the dining room to get at the chairs so he could move them into the kitchen to start playing with the microwave.  I would go into the kitchen, show him which buttons to push and would only allow this to happen 3 times, but of course 3 times wasn’t enough and lead to a meltdown so I told my son the big “N.O” and from there stacked the chairs so he could no longer move them. He’s since gotten into the oven which now has a lock on it and then found the pots and pans in the bottom of it, which is annoying but acceptable.

I decided to look for a toy microwave… not a wooden one, one that actually had buttons, lights up, and beeps. Apparently they don’t exist in Canada, I found a beautiful one in the UK by De’Longhi which looked fabulous, after hours of searching for one to ship to Canada I then found out that it would cost me close to $80 to get the thing here, for that price I might as well buy my son a REAL microwave. I thought I would look for something a little different and came across the Blue and Red “Just Like Home Microwave” and yet again no Toys R Us would ship it to Canada, nothing on Amazon or anywhere else. I FINALLY found a pink one on Ebay, I hesitated on the color but in the end I COULD NOT find anything else. So for Easter my son will be getting his very own mini microwave (along with fake food) which he can press over and over again.

My big question is why are there no toy microwaves in Canada? WTF? Are we as Canadians beyond using microwaves? Was there a magic recall on these toys? Not that I’ve found, so what gives?

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Toys and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

