Parental Fail

Parental fails, we all have them, and I will openly admit to mine because it was a simple fact of not thinking which I pray doesn’t alter and imbed itself into his mind where it morphs into some fear and anxiety or some destructive violent path. Here goes.

Last night we had the joys of going through the effects of daylight savings, our son was up and wired and all my husband and I wanted to do was watch our TV show in which we wait all week to watch (Spartacus) its a lot of blood, guts, gore, and sex. After an hour of fighting we shrugged to ourselves and brought the kiddo downstairs to run around and play as we turned down the volume and quietly continued to watch our show as he was paying NO attention to the TV. I look back now and think to myself “obviously I should have turned the TV off or watched something more appropriate but at that moment I was thinking that I JUST wanted my kid to go to sleep so we could relax as now it was going on to 2 hours.” This is where the fail comes in, we’re watching this amazing scene, shit is going down, gladiators are fighting and getting slashed to bits, and here my son climbs up onto the couch and for the first time turns his attention to the big screen right as a guy’s face get’s hacked off. I look at the screen, at my son’s face, and keep staring at his wide eyes and opened mouth. Right away I start playing with him hoping that it’s not a big deal, hoping he doesn’t understand what he saw, hoping he doesn’t remember it. I look at my husband and tell him “if he has nightmares tonight that’s OUR fault.”

Luckily we didn’t have any issues last night once we finally wrestled junior to bed at 10pm and did enjoy him sleeping until nearly 9. I sincerely hope that what he saw last night will be forgotten, and lesson learned that next time we’ll just catch the episode online instead of chancing it. So what’s your parental fail?

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parental Fail

  1. linzster says:

    I posted about one of mine the other week! I think blogging about them is really helpful. It helps us be reflective and also think back through the situation again. It is also nice to read about other parental fails online. We always get to hear about the milestones, the cute stuff, but these moments are important to read about, too! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

