Don’t Fear 2nd Hand

When I was first pregnant I swore that I would buy everything new for my child, now that he’s hitting the age of a toddler and needing/wanting bigger things I simply shake my head at the concept of buying some things new. In the past few weeks I’ve been scouring local ads for cheap, gently used toys and such. A few weeks ago I bought a Little Tikes toy box, it looked like new (because really how the heck do you really get any wear out of a big plastic toy box?) I would have paid $80 retail for this thing and got it for $25. I was so impressed with myself since I was going to buy one either way and ended up saving on it.

Yesterday I bought my son a plastic Little Tikes picnic table, it might eventually go outside on the deck if I find more of an art table for the boy… it usually runs around $65 for this table. I bought it for a cool $10, all hubby and I needed to do was give it a good wipe down since it had been sitting in storage. I’m so pleased, at the moment he’s sitting at it eating his breakfast and when he’s done I can always move it back against the wall. So we’re looking at spending $35 for $145 worth of stuff (not including tax) which leaves me with more money! And in this day and age money is always a good thing J So I encourage mom’s not to turn your nose up the at idea of 2nd hand, I did for the longest time but in reality there’s a lot out there that barely gets used because children out grow it so easily and 9 times out of 10 its in brand spanking new condition.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Toys and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Don’t Fear 2nd Hand

  1. linzster says:

    I am a big fan of the mega-consignment sales. We have a bunch in our area. It seems like mothers helping mothers make motherhood affordable.

Leave a comment