The Ends Justify The Means

As a parent I find sometimes I’ll do anything, even sabotage myself just to get a moment of peace. Tonight for example, I was making dinner and my son wanted up, when he was up he wanted to play with the light above the stove (which had food cooking on it) so he had to go down. Of course he didn’t like that and cried while my husband and I tried to move our way around the kitchen between the dog and the kid. Enough was enough as he whined at my legs nearly tripping me, I tried cookies, I tried his bottle but to no avail, I gave in and knew the consequences weren’t as bad as the current situation and I gave him a sucker and shooed him out of the kitchen. It shut him up and I was able to get dinner finished and on the table, I knew that he wasn’t going to eat dinner and that it was highly likely that he was going to be wound up later on. Luckily I got him seated and he did eat some garlic bread and cheese (so dinner wasn’t all lost.) After dinner we went for a walk so the sugar temperament was kept to a minimum, but the big question here is was I rewarding bad behaviour or can it be justified that my child wasn’t exactly misbehaving and I merely wanted to get dinner on the table? Either way in the end I found it justified, dinner was served and the consequences weren’t hard to deal with. So mom’s out there, is it some days easier to cave just a little than deal?

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

