I’m Not Crunchy

I’m not a crunchy mom… not in the slightest, I guess it simply never happened that way. Breastfeeding wasn’t at all easy, I became anaemic after having my son (whom was 6 weeks early) and while in the hospital I couldn’t produce milk, I was under too much stress. In fact I begged my doctor to discharge me by the third day because I had a breakdown due to horrible roommates, one that was 300+lbs and suffered from respitory problems and snored like a bull while the other had a screechy loud voice and screamed on her cell phone 24/7. The breastfeeding happened but I struggled to eat enough to keep up production, by 8 months it was barely happening. The idea of cloth diapers make me want to gag, I hate changing poop as is, if I had to actually get close the poop and clean it I would puke. My husband worked in produce for years and is a FULL believer that organic is horrible (I heard about more organic call backs than anything else.) My son slept in a basinet next to the bed and never in bed with my husband and myself, there were a few odd times where we fell asleep together while I nursed but when I awoke I always put him back in his own bed. I never wore my son because here it hits up in the mid to high 30’s to 40’s (90-100F) in the summer and I was already prone to heatstroke so having a hot little body next to mine was out of the question.

My son plays with electronic toys more than “wooden” ones… he watches the tv every so often. I swear by his little laptop which teaches him new words, I’m just happy when the kid eats so I don’t hold back any kind of food from processed to something that might contain sugar (OH NO!) He’s had his vaccinations because for the love of God my husband missed his when he was young and he got to suffer through German Measles (so that was a no brainer that he was getting his shots.) So I failed at the whole “crunchy mom” the only thing I guess we did do was keep him “intact” because I fully believe if you were born with it you’re supposed to have it.

Does being crunchy or smooth really make anyone a better parent? I don’t think so in the slightest, its all about what works for you and your child. As long as you love your child, show him kindness and affection, comfort him when he’s upset, change him when he’s dirty, and feed him when he’s hungry, that you’re doing a damn fine job.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Parenting, Society and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Not Crunchy

  1. I still don’t know what a ‘crunchy mom’ is? Is that akin to being ‘hippy?’ I haven’t heard that term 🙂 but if you lasted till 8 mos on the breastfeeding – that’s a lot better than most (like me 🙂 ) I had no idea about the organic food thing (aarrgghh). Great post! It’s funny how these issues are a big deal at the time but go away when they start school … like breastfeeding. But then they are replaced by other things- in the end it’s all about what you feel is best! I wrote a similar article too – feels good to get it out there.

    • vanitymom says:

      “Crunchy” is more to the terms all natural, ready up on vaccines and doesn’t jump straight into them, natural remedies and meds, breastfeeding, co-sleeping. Its a very “natural” and “new age” go on things which is great for some people but honestly not for myself.

Leave a Reply

