Missed Friday Entry: Gone A Baptising

Yet again another missed Friday entry, this one was pretty good though. Long story short one of my best childhood friends was visiting from Amsterdam (the other side of the world) and she was having her 17 month of son baptised here. Can you imagine two little boys between 17 and 20 months old in an old school Roman Catholic church? I simply clenched my jaw the entire time and took deep breaths. It was an incredibly small ceremony (all of 6 people including the 2 kids and myself.) While prayers were being said my son started going “NO NO NO!” In which my friend’s son started chiming in with an agreeing “no no no,” my friend and I looked at each other and shared the “omg we’re crazy to even be here” look, the whole reason behind it happening was for her father’s sake whom wanted her son traditionally baptised. By the end of the ceremony I was apologizing profusely for my son’s behaviour as he ran around the podium (hey my friend is the crazy one who wanted me to bring him, I explained that there was no way he was going to behave. Although I prayed beforehand he‘d sense a greater presence and buck up, that didn‘t happen.) In which my friend replied giggling that her sister had her son baptised at two months and had colic so he screamed bloody murder through the whole thing. I’m guessing that most priests/pastors are used to kids screaming during these things, they have that Godly patience to only smile as kids scream during prayers, run around the aisles, and climb on the pews. Even by the end of it the priest smiled and said “such beautiful Godly children” in which I wanted to laugh, if my child is “Godly” then I’m the freaking Queen of England. Worst of all is that the entire thing was recorded, so it’ll be one of those events that we’ll both be able to remember (no matter how much we might want to forget.) All in all I was honoured to be part of her son’s baptism, she’s a beautiful friend of which I will always cherish, and believe me once the kids are out of the house we’ll vacation together on a beach, sipping mixed drinks and laughing over the whole charade.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Society and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

