Bundling Up On Those Cold Days

Unfortunately we ended up with a cold snap here, lowering our temperatures down to -19 today, in any other situation I would crank the heat in the house and stay home but today VanityMom has a very important doctors appointment as I’ve magically become anaemic. So I thought I would share in some tips in keeping a child warm when you have to venture out into the crap cold like this.

Bundle them up as best as you can in layers, it seems like kids pants these days do NOTHING to keep them warm so I would even go as far as saying leggings on a little boy underneath jeans (unfortunately I don’t have leggings) so I’m going to opt for jeans which have an elastic at the bottom of the legs to keep some body heat in.

Lined shoes will work in this situation, boots that have a nice cotton lining (or in my case I have one with lambs wool.)

Don’t have gloves/can’t for the life of you find your child’s gloves? Socks work on their hands in this situation.

Hats are ever so important so make sure that their ears are covered as well as the top of their head since that’s where most of your body heat escapes from.

Before leaving the house toss a blanket in the dryer for a few minutes, stuff it in your diaper bag (instead of carrying it out to the car) and use that to bundle up your little one as well.

Beyond warm milk? Take some chocolate milk and warm it up a little, something inside the tummy that’s nice and warm will keep your little one feeling nice and toasty.

In saying this remember to not bulk your child up before putting them in their car seat, and make sure that they don’t overheat. Honestly though, who else really needs to be leaving their house in these crap conditions with a kid? Then again I’m pretty sure tomorrow I might need diapers 😛

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Health, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

