Raise Your Hand If You Are “Shameful!”

Today I ran across “18 Shameful Things Mom’s Don‘t Want To Admit” on MSN as I logged out of my hotmail, I read the article and thought to myself “did they actually talk to mom’s about this or pull it out of their butt?” followed by my second thought “mom’s are human beings and I’m sure every one of us is guilty of a few things on this list. So let me confess.

Yeah I’ve left my son in his crib for a few minutes once he’s been up so I could finish up what I was doing, he’s safe up in his crib, he has a few toys, he enjoys playing with his mobile and sometimes its worth getting what I need done. I’m sure every mom out there has woken up in the morning to a child making noise, has rolled over and thought “5 more minutes” or has been cleaning and working and has been like “if I do this really fast then it’ll be done and I’ll get my child.”

Some of the things I think they were merely trying the guilt the hell out of you like You forgot something in the house so you leave your child locked in the car so you can run and get it. Uh? YEAH! “Shit I forgot my wallet, I can lock the car, alarm it, and run back into the house for a full 30 seconds and come back” does NOT make a you a bad parent! Your kid is in your freaking drive-way in a locked car in their car seat, what the heck are they going to do? Obviously don’t leave the car running, but I mean c’mon now! I am totally guilty of having mom brain, strapping my kid in (with 20 freaking straps, adjusting them, adjusting him, giving him his toy) and being like “oh crap I forgot my bank card on the kitchen table” and running into the house.

You Would Rather Sleep, Sometimes Even Work, Than Be With Your Children. Yeah and some days I would rather have teeth pulled than go to work, or have my ears ripped off than have to listen to my husband! Really? WTF!

What else am I guilty of? I’ve allowed my son to eat “junk” for breakfast, if he wants a tea cookie and is going to actually eat it then whatever! I’ve kept him in pyjamas’ all day, who can honestly say that they have never once spent a full day in their pj’s? I’ve also wiped his snot on his own clothes because at the end of the day its going in the wash anyway!

So I give the middle finger to this parent/human bashing article because unless you’re a friggan saint or golden mother of the year, you’ve done or felt a few of these things. You know what I say? Shove it! If your child is safe, happy, and growing then you’re doing just fine, don’t beat yourself up over the trivial crap like not giving your child vegetables everyday.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Health, Parenting, Picky Eater, Society, Time Management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raise Your Hand If You Are “Shameful!”

  1. I have never done ANY of these things. Except maybe for all of them. But not more than once. Or fifty times. Who is counting?

Leave a Reply

