Everything Is “Mine!”

Oh the joys of new words! How we celebrate when our child learns a new word but cringe at the overuse of it, especially when it can be so incredibly obnoxious that after a few days you’re pining to hear something, ANYTHING new out of your child’s mouth. The new word of this week is the ever so lovely “mine” in which has been heard before but is now at full swing and slowly taking over the “no.” Then again the “no” is usually accompanied by “mine.” My coffee is his, the broom is his, the granola bar wrapper is his. Even with his little cousin, her toys become his and its to the point where I get the eye twitch because the world already revolves around him and now suddenly everything in the world also BELONGS to him.

Even when he hands his bottle over for more he reminds me as it leaves his little hand that it is indeed his, he will follow me to the kitchen full knowing that I am going to rinse it out, give it a scrub, and re-fill it and in that time he’s still reminding me that it is indeed his property. I’m almost tempting to tell him that its mine and start drinking from it but I’m sure that’ll only encourage a meltdown in which I’m trying to avoid (which is the reason why he still has his “buh buh” in the first place.)

I guess as long as he stays out of my underwear, (like my late Siamese cat which was horrible in claiming my bras and underwear as his) Last thing I need is my son wearing my clothes declaring “mine!” As he’s already gotten into my shoes, although Daddy’s stay on his feet a lot easier and have been already claimed his.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Everything Is “Mine!”

  1. I was just laughing reading this, thinking of my daughter. I too am desperate for her to learn a new word..lately MOMMA (in a very demanding tone) is all the I’ve heard. I also love the picture of the birds from Finding Nemo..her favorite movie. Thanks for sharing:) Enjoy your weekend!

  2. I tweeted about this “mine” event from my house yesterday: E- picked her nose today and out came a boogey, she said “I GOT IT!”, with a tissue, I said put that here. E- replied “No, Mine!” #mydaddyx2 So your post really hit home. Great post! I look forward to the next one

  3. vanitymom says:

    I’m glad you both enjoyed the post 🙂 Hopefully the next word that my son learns will be a little more tolerable than “no” and “mine” I can only hope.

Leave a Reply

