Let’s Solve A Few Problems.

As it’s the start of a new year a lot of mom’s put out a resolution to lose weight, be fit, and so on and so forth. I know that it can be hard being active in the winter when its cold outside, that eating right doesn’t always happen when you just want your child to eat (and then you’re usually picking and eating the food your child didn’t eat) and then to top it off A LOT of mom’s skip breakfast.

Well I came across a bit of a solution which will not only help mom have an easy, healthy breakfast which will kick-start the day, but something that is also good for kids and something kids will actually eat (since we’re going through a picky eater stage.) Smoothies! They don’t have to be complicated either, a lot of smoothies call for yogurt, milk ect but I found a much easier way of making them. I simply use orange juice as a base and add from there, usually a whole banana (I chop it up and put it in a large plastic cup like the 711 big gulp size and then use a handheld mini blender.) You can also buy frozen bagged strawberries, and let them thaw for a bit and add them to the mix too. You can pretty much add any kind of fruit you want, when I’m done I stick mine in the freezer for a few minutes since I like them cold.

I think best of all is that my son drink this too which works great because I KNOW he’s getting the nutrition instead of putting fruit on a plate that he’ll push around, mash up and then only eat a few bites of. Even better, I went to the store and bought plastic cups that come with lids and straws, and use those for him (and re-use them of course.) So he’s always eager to drink them.

Good for you because it’s healthy, takes only minutes to make breakfast for yourself AND your child, its easy! Good for them because they’re getting the nutrition they need (and hey if they like it then everything in the world right.)

 

And those asking about the band-aid situation, we got the spray on band-aid which worked so much better, no fuss, no screaming (or puking) although they’re stupidly overpriced my son’s finger is now nearly fully healed. Any parent out there with a kid who hates band-aids I would highly recommend saying your sanity and purchasing spray on.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Parenting, Picky Eater, Time Management and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Solve A Few Problems.

  1. wartica says:

    You can never go wrong with any kind of a smoothie; I think we all need them from time to time. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track.Hope you had a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

  2. Piper's Run says:

    After attending a birthday party yesterday my daughter, almost 19 months old, couldn’t get enough smoothie in her. This is the route I am going to take as well.

Leave a Reply

