The Band-aid dun dun dun!

In my many years of working in Daycares and the school I’ve come across everything from bloody noses, gashes, scraped knees, split heads, and splinters. Blood has never been something that phases me, and I have told my co-workers that I eagerly await the day that I can stab a child with an epi-pen. The other day my son scraped his knuckle, no biggie, scrapes happen and I figured it wasn’t something to get worked up about and just left it. Well he kept picking at it and after three days it started looking really gross, so on New Years Eve I took my son, and put a little bit of polysporin on his finger with a band-aid… well shit I have never in my life EVER seen a child freak out the way he did over the band-aid, to the point where he made himself puke. So the band-aid came off and I spent the rest of the night consoling him as he coughed, wheezed, and cried into my shoulder in a very pathetic display of emotion to the point where I felt like I had just killed a puppy in front of him. Let’s just say New Years Eve was a bust. The next day he was back at picking at his wound, I consulted my mother, my friends, and even Google to see what could be done. The solution: spray on band-aid! So hubby and I got in the car, feeling like super parents for dropping everything to come to the aid of our child, we drove this entire freaking town only to realize NOTHING was open. We came back home and I tried my mother’s advice, put a band-aid on his favourite stuffed animal (which is now Winston the turtle) my son cried at that, put one on his finger and compared, the tears came harder, tried to busy him… he only screamed MORE, then I put one on my finger… that was fine but dammit he had one on HIS finger and he simply wasn’t having it.

So I’ll allow it to be an open wound for the remainder of the night but FIRST thing tomorrow its off to Walmart to buy some spray on band-aid and pray that it works *fingers crossed.*

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Health, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Band-aid dun dun dun!

  1. chantel says:

    LOL I had to laugh because I have 2 sons with Aspergers and the youngest one FREAKS over band-aids as well – thankfully he has never really had to have any. The worse was when he had to get stiches in his forhead and had a band-aid covering them so we had to take off the band-aid – well boy oh boy he then freaked about the stiches and said screamed he looked like a monster! lol Can’t win with some kids! Good luck with teh spray on band-aid:)

Leave a Reply

