You Better Watch Out, You Better Not Cry

Christmas from an adults point of view can be a wonderful family function, a time spent catching up, pigging out, and opening gifts… where as I’m sure for a young child it can be a lot of stressful simulation which even though the thought behind it can be joyous it can lead to an absolute melt down followed by passing out for hours on end.

Let’s start with Christmas Eve in my family, everyone packs up and heads to my grandparents for dinner and gifts, in which already my son is annoyed because he doesn’t like his button up shirt that I quite literally have to wrestle him into, he screams no like I’m putting a straight jacket on him. That isn’t until I put his actual jacket on in which for whatever reason he has decided that he absolutely hates now, I get upset before we’re even out the door and then when he realizes that we’re going in the car he’s even more upset. Luckily the drive is over in 5 minutes and we arrive at the great grandparents house and great grandma whisks my child into her arms and he’s happy again, for the moment. Then he’s expected to sit at the table and eat dinner in which he really doesn’t want to do, he wants to run and play and follow my parents annoying little dog around, it isn’t eat time, its play time! So he barely gets down a good 5 bites and is then running around the house squealing as the rest of us eat.

My son is getting a lot of attention after dinner and then we decide its time to move downstairs to open gifts, we’re all excited to sit and open presents while my sons sees it as “we’re going downstairs, I can run around, turn the lights on and off and open and close all the bedroom doors and hide!” My grandfather is smart and plops a huge gift in front of him to open to keep him in the area of the gift openings but when he opens the gift he finds a big red fire truck, his new favourite toy from his great aunt and uncle. For the rest of the night he could care less about opening the rest of his toys and is seen driving the fire truck through the house. We move back upstairs for goodies and coffee, my son doesn’t understand why we’re up and down and isn’t happy that he’s momentarily torn from his new toy and brought up the stairs (with mom packing him and dad bringing up the truck.) It gets late and he gets overtired and is then forced back into the car to go home.

Of course the next day we do this all over again as we go up to my parents place for breakfast and Christmas morning gifts, we do all that and then go home, force our son down for a nap and then wake him in time for us to go back up to my parents for dinner again. That’s 4 more times of putting on his wretched coat and shoes (which in the process we ended up losing one) and getting him in and out of the car. If my memory serves me right he spent the last trip in the car coming back home in tears because he simply had enough. Last night he stayed up extra late with mommy and daddy watching movies since he was too wired for bed, and now its nearly nine in the morning and my little boy is still asleep.

In no way am I saying that it was a horrible Christmas with my precious 20 month old son, but I’m saying I’m thankful that we only do this once a year, and I’m sure next year as we near the age of 3 it’ll just get better. I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas!

Anyone else get a red fire truck which will now become the new toy of the year (or next few months?)

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

