Do You Even PLAY With Those Toys?

I wonder if my son actually even “plays” with his toys anymore, he more or less scoots them across the floor and sees where they can end up in the house. He does this with the furniture as well which can be incredibly annoying when the end table ends up 6 feet over in the bathroom. Trucks and car are no longer for scooting across the floor but rather for banging on the coffee table or throwing down the stairs. Looking around at the moment I’ve come to the conclusion that the “baby” toys need to go. The popper which you walk with and pops as you scoot it across the floor (obviously I cannot think of the name of this thing for the life of me but if you’re a parent I’m sure you own this toy.) The stacking rings which were mastered as they came out of the box and are no longer used, and other such baby items like teething rings and what not.

The best toys seem to still be the ones I tell him he cannot touch, like mom’s computer, the toilet, even the vacuum cleaning which he climbs on and tries to ride from time to time. Thank goodness Christmas will be here next week and there will be loads of new toys to take the place of old toys which can be donated. I refuse to hang onto any of them because the idea of storing toys until I have another child makes my eye twitch, there’s simply not enough room for all of my son’s stuff to keep them. As I get rid of toys I learn which ones I will never buy again, like the toys that you push the top down and the stuff inside goes round and round… and the Fisher Price Dog…

Alas this Friday update isn’t going to be long, its starting to snow out, I have to run to the bank before the roads are absolute crap and people start freaking out and driving like morons, that and I have a little boy whom is in need of some attention. So to all you lovely mommy’s out there I hope you have a wonderful weekend (and even you non-mommy’s)

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Toys. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Even PLAY With Those Toys?

  1. yes – I guess kids get bored with things like we do – unless they have a sibling that they can throw them at then the toys take on a whole new use that they were never intended for. It’s crazy because here it is sunny and over 70 degrees out – and it’s December! have a great weekend!

  2. Get rid of the popper and never replace it. The actual, according-to-the-package directions for this bit of junk are “Swing popper at siblings head as though it were a golf club.”

Leave a Reply

