Doing Anything With A Kid Burns More Calories

I swear you burn twice as many calories whenever you do something with your child. Monday for instance, it was a beautiful day out and I decided that it would be good for my son and myself to get out of the house. I opted for a walk to the German Deli about 3 short blocks away, the estimated time limit being about 15-20 minutes depending on how busy it was. I bundle my son up, and lose a never ending battle of getting gloves on him… at this point I tell myself eventually he’ll end up with frostbite and decide that gloves are a good idea (I highly doubt he’ll ever get frostbite as today was a sunny +4 up here with no snow, gotta love the “frozen north” that doesn’t often get a white Christmas.) We walk down the street, he holds my hand, I try to keep him from picking up rocks and leafs along the way, so I’m constantly being jerked downward to my left as he attempts to pick something up. Along the way he decides that he wants to run so he yanks me around leading me in a good shuffle. We took the back way which lead us through the park, of course we had to stop, mom got to push him in the swing for 5-10 minutes until it was time to leave. From there we made a detour as my son tried to catch some ducks leading the other way down the street, he tried to catch ducks, I tried to catch him, in the end mom won this round.

We start walking the last block when my son does the dreaded dead stop right in front of me, looks up at me with those beautiful green eyes and reaches his arms up towards me saying “mum mum” and so I pack him the rest of the way to the deli. Inside I pick up some amazing mint German chocolates, and overpriced bubble bath for my mother for another Christmas gift… I do this packing my son because inside this deli is adorned with old school GLASS Christmas decorations that if my son so much as looked at they would shatter… along with more Christmas cookies, chocolates, and candies that should ever be in the same place at once (yes, this is a deli.)

Once everything is paid for we turn back, my son runs, I jostle holding his hand, he walks INCREDIBLY SLOWWWWWW and I tip toe beside him… then suddenly we stop as my son watches in delight as we pass a construction zone and he points to the dump trucks squealing “trucks trucks trucks!” I tell him we have to get home and drag him a block as he’s using his super human baby strength to lean back and stare at the trucks. Finally two blocks to go and I get the “mum mum” with outstretched arms. I’m dead tired at this point, sweating in my winter jacket and now carrying a child whom is wearing a big winter coat, and a bag that is too small for the two items its holding. A block to go he wants down and drags me home as I try to keep up with him. So it went from a 15-20 minute stroll and stop to a 40 minute walk with a park stop along the way, I think the worst part is we were only in the deli for maybe 3 minutes. Oh well, I feel like I’ve had my workout for the day, now to indulge in a mint (or two)

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fitness, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

