Santa Claus, Ugly Truth Or Pretty Lie?

So many parents that I’ve spoken to are opting out of the whole “Santa Claus” story when it comes to their kids, they’re explaining right off the hop that he isn’t real and that he simply represents the season of giving and so on. I for one will NOT be doing this, and here’s the reason why. As a child I grew up believing in the Tooth Fairy, Santa Claus, and the Easter Bunny, they were magical and mystical creatures beyond comprehension and they brought a little magic to the world. My parents never had to have the talk with me about Santa and his buddies not being real, I eventually figured it out on my own, shrugged it off but kept up the charade for my younger brother to enjoy. I never lost the love of Christmas because suddenly the big elf in red wasn’t what he was made out to be. My parents were creative in keeping these things alive and it was a lot of fun while it lasted and I enjoyed every moment of it and still look back at the fantasy and smile.

The way I see it is the world is crappy enough as is… why not let my child live in the world where magic is still possible even if its only for a few years? Why would I want to rob him of the joys of Santa Claus or the Tooth Fairy? A lot of parents argue that I’m lying to my child, that I’m basing holidays and what not on lies. I will not base Christmas solely on Santa, but also what he represents, and what we do together as a family, coming together for those two days, celebrating, exchanging gifts, being grateful, and enjoying the time that we spend all together.

I honestly hope my son is smart enough to figure it out eventually for himself, if not then there will be a talk and I really hope its not one of those situations where he comes home from school screaming, crying and hyperventilating because another child calls him out and tells him that Santa Claus doesn’t exist.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Parenting, Society and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Santa Claus, Ugly Truth Or Pretty Lie?

Leave a Reply

