Copycat Child

Ever notice that children are the biggest copy cats out there? I think it’s programmed into them and that’s why I get these annoying situations at work (I work with Kindergarten kids because I’m crazy) saying “he’s copying me!” This week alone I have watched my son climb up on the couch with a juice box, sit in his father’s spot and grab the X-box controller and pretend to play videogames. Even more astounding he was actually able to turn it on, start a game, and kill 4 bad guys before I noticed that he wasn’t just tinkering with the controller, he was actually PLAYING the game. He’s started wanting to use spoons and fork as he eats instead of merely doing what I prefer (using his hands) so I had to set out and buy him his own little fork and spoon set. He’ll sit beside me and copy what I eat off my plate (yes we had to buy him one of those too because the bumble bee plate no longer cut it) Just now he was on his laptop and he placed it on his father’s laptop cooler and pretended to type on it.

Apparently now is the time that my husband and I need to start watching our actions because even though he’s copying the good stuff he’s also taken to smacking my butt when he walks behind me or wants my attention (something my husband does quite regularly.) I know other kids have seen their parents do this or catch this from cartoons as well as I have had an incident at school where a kindie walked behind me, smacked my but and said “what’s up toots” I failed by laughing but then had to explain to him why it wasn’t appropriate behaviour…

I’m pretty sure my big parent failure will be the day my kid starts spurting off swear words because even though I can behave myself while at work the second I walk through that threshold all bets are off

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Copycat Child

  1. When they first start talking, every word sounds like swearing.

Leave a Reply

