Oh Christmas Tree

This year my husband and I went all out in buying a new fake Christmas Tree, we did a real one once and ended up with more needles than I care to see ever grace a floor again… so we bought a 7.5 foot 400 light beast of a tree. Vanity Mom thought why stop there? I want this tree to be beautiful so while we were at it I bought a 100 piece collection of Martha Stewart Living ornaments, they came in the ranges of dark blue, light blue, turquoise, and silver. From balls to snowflakes to icicles, I had a vision of a perfectly adorned Christmas Tree.

The tree is now sitting in the living room, fully operational but only HALF decorated. Why is the tree only half decorated? Because my son can’t keep his grubby little hands off the decorations, the second there is something at he can grab or at his level he sees it as a challenge to pull it off the tree. I could live with him taking one ball off the tree but we’re talking about both hands going and ripping everything that can possible come off onto the ground. I’ve tried telling him, giving him his own ball, showing him that they look better ON the tree, even went through the process of time out..,.

So here I sit, the tree looking like something from the heavens 4feet and up, the rest is bare other than the lights. My husband told me that this year we might not be able to decorate the rest of the tree and to give our son time and that we’ll re-assess the situation next week when the Christmas Tree is old news and then maybe I can POSSIBLY finish decorating. So now I have this beautiful tree, half decorated, and every time I look at it I get a slight twitch in my left eye and my hands ball up into fists as the ONLY thing I want to do is put the rest of the damn ornaments on it.

I’ll keep you readers updated on whether or not the tree actually gets finished 😛

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

