Mr. Independent

                                                              My son is going through this independence streak which has become not only annoying but also horrifying to the point where I can feel my hairs turning gray. He’s now able to get on the couch and sit, an amazing feat considering our couch is fairly plush and high up, that’s great, now he can get on and off the couch on his own. With this challenge finally extinguished he’s turned himself towards bigger and better things. The other day I went to grab him a snack from the kitchen, all of 10 feet away from the family room, in the 12 and a half seconds that I didn’t have my eyes on him he decided the smartest thing to do in this situation would be to climb on top of the coffee table and wait there with open arms “TA DA!” For his mother whose eyes nearly shot out of her head when she saw her 19 month old son standing there so proudly waiting for his snack. This is a new regular annoyance that we have to watch for, because there’s not enough to watch for in the day we need to add our kid standing up on the damn coffee table.

With this independent streak he has also decided that he doesn’t want to be in his highchair anymore, he wants to sit like mommy and daddy to on a chair at the table… fine, whatever, and so he sits on a chair between us (squatting is more like it) eating his food off a plate. He doesn’t want a pillow or anything under him propping him up, he wants it just like mom and dad… that’s all fine and dandy until he realised not only can he climb up and onto the kitchen chair, that’s not good enough, he can also SLIDE the chair where ever he wants to in the house! Magically he can now slide the chair and have access to ANYTHING that is above his level or reach… at this point I was muttering “are you fking kidding me” as I found him playing with the toaster after quickly having a 20 second pee break.

The last lovely thing that has come out of this new found independence is his NEED to walk everywhere EXCEPT the mall when I have a million and one bags, that is when he decides that he simply can no longer make it, his legs will no longer carry him and he falls to his knees with arms outstretched saying “mum mum mum” I roll my eyes, juggle my bags around, along with my coat, his coat, and him and pick him up but the SECOND we’re out of the mall in the parking lot he’s trying to flip out of my arms which are now perfectly balances in crap because he’s a big boy and needs to walk to the car.

And to think this mother once said that I couldn’t WAIT until he was a little more independent, then again in my mind I was more likely thinking able to drive his own ass around and buy his own diapers.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

