Its Okay To Suck!

So I missed Friday again, truth be told on Friday I actually called in sick for work and spent the day away from all my responcibilities, my child was driving me to pulling out my hair, I was emotionally and physically tired which was making me feel sick so I did what I think every mom should do every so often. Hubby watched the kiddo and I went out on my own with my bestie for a very quiet, relaxing, PEACEFUL lunch. I actually got to sit and have an adult conversation, I had a nice drink, and I was able to sit and taste the food in front of me without little hands digging into it/stealing it/or otherwise just touching it. I couldn’t help but feel a tinge of guilt that I totally sucked, that I needed to be away from my child to regain some sanity (and clear a headache.)

Later on during the day I came across a blog: http://www.themiddlefingerproject.org/its-okay-if-you-suck-at-this-otherwise-called-permission-to-suck-otherwise-called-longest-blog-post-title-ever-because-obnoxiously-long-blog-post-titles-are-funny/

It made me feel better, it allowed me to realize (and remind me) that I am only human, I am not a magical super mom, I screw up, there are somedays where animal crackers for breakfast work just fine, where I’ll pass a pajama shirt off as a real shirt, and where I forget to brush my sons teeth after giving in, going upstairs for the umpteenth time and giving him ANOTHER bottle before bed.

Just because you pushed out a kid doesn’t mean you magically have super powers or that suddenly you’re perfect. No, not at all, sh*t happens whether its in an exploded diaper or when you break the heel to your shoe while running out the door. Be strong, and remember you’re only human and nobody has the right to expect anything more.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

