Let It Snow… Let It Snow… Let It “NOOOOO”

We had our last snowfall last week, luckily we ended up with a warm current so its all gone now, but the first night it snowed I couldn’t help but feel happy and anxious to get my little guy out and enjoying the snow for the first time. Last year he was much too little to play in the snow so he kept out of it, hubby and I carried him to and from the car and late night walking was done in the buggy. The next day I joyfully bundled my child to resemble a blue starfish in his new snow pants and jacket, he was nearly immobile because the material was still so stiff. I ended up visiting at his great grandparents place and got him out for quite some time, he enjoyed taking his beach toys in the snow and shovelling the snow into a cup, he wasn’t too keen on keeping his gloves on so once his fingers got cold and he started getting mad (yes, at his fingers) we went inside. First real time in the snow went off without a hitch, no snow in the face, boots, no real hissy fits, everything was great.

The next day I was excited to see another light dusting and thought it would be fun to let the kiddo get dressed again and we would go outside and play in the yard. Well where we live there’s a dip in the grass and a drain, my son has always been fascinated with the water going down the drain (typical right?) Well he ran out in front of me off our pathway and succeeded in tumbling face first where the grass sloped. He struggled in starfish position for a moment before I was able to get on my super mom cape and fly to the rescue, by the time I picked him up and had him in his arms he was screaming bloody murder. I wiped the snow from his face and hands and gave him a hug ensuring it was okay and that he was alright. I tried to put him back down to walk (as the snow from his boots were soaking the heck out of me) but he wouldn’t have it. He screamed in a high pitch “no” as if I were about to make a human sacrifice of him on a fiery alter. I tried to coax him “see its just snow, snow is fun” as I picked some up in my hands and threw it up in the air. “NOOOO!” I got right in my ear, that was the point the was making, he was done with the snow and nothing I could do at that moment was going to change his mind that is wasn’t the white devil using gravity to land him face first in it and suffocate him.

Hopefully once it snows again mom and redeem herself and get her son enjoying it again, until then it can take its time getting back to us… I much prefer going out without a million layers of clothes and snow pants anyways.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

