Christmas Shopping Is Done

I’m thrilled to announce that 1) I am feeling much better 2) that I have gotten pretty much all of the Christmas shopping done other than a quick run to the liquor store for wine. The idea of Christmas shopping with a child has always haunted the heck out of me. The first year my husband (then boyfriend) went Christmas shopping with me I was ready to send him back to the car and tell him to wait for me to get done. The crowds in the mall are horrible, its to the point where you literally walk on people’s heels going 1km an hour, the idea of having a buggy and trying to manoeuvre around seemed impossible. The parking lot was another thing in which blew my mind, from November 24th to December 24th the mall parking lot is like a scene off Jersey Shore, people actually getting into physical fights over parking spaces, even better I live in a retirement city so over half the population are elderly people, nothing like watching two grandmother’s bat one another back and forth over a parking space.

So we’ve covered the parking, the crowds, now there’s the fact of my son. My son is now at the stage where he doesn’t want to be in the buggy, he wants his independence and he wants to walk. Which means mom and dad need to be holding his hands at all times, but he has this magical little trick where when you least suspect it he lets go of your hand and beelines it for the closest ride that he sees, and our mall is FULL of these stupid money eating machines. I would be fine if it was 24cents, even 50, but they cost a dollar for thirty seconds worth of gyrating up and down and making noise., and of course going on one is never enough, they all have to be sampled. Honestly I try to avoid the entire thing by keeping my son occupied with a tim bit or something else than getting him near those machines.

My son has also deemed certain stores as the portals to hell, for whatever reason the second my son walks into HMV he shit fits, his patience suddenly goes down to nothing and his father and I get to carry out a kid whom thinks movies and music are the devil. In clothing stores the only thing he wants to do is push the racks that have wheels on them and re-arrange the store, which so many of the clerks find adorable while I fume at his disobedience. Then of course we have the touching and grabbing ANYTHING that blinks, makes noise, or sparkles which during Christmas time is everything and anything. So this is why I went out of my way to get my lovely Christmas shopping down well before everyone else, so while people are at the mall, going up against the elements I’ll be at home enjoying an evening in.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Society, Time Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

