SickyMom

I’m sick at the moment, I think its no more than a bad cold but still when I get sick I go all out from fever, body aches, fever, runny nose, cough. Every symptom that I can possibly get I usually have round the clock. Go big or go home right? Unfortunately it seems whenever I get sick the rest of my family (mother, grandparents/ possible babysitters) are all out as well, so I take on the task of continuing my daily mommy routine of looking after the kiddo until my husband gets home, at that time I usually retire to bed and act rather pathetic through the rest of the day begging him for NyQuil, blue PowerAde, Sesame Snaps, and chocolate (and no I’m not pregnant again.)

 

Unfortunately my son picks up that mommy isn’t feeling well and is incredibly empathetic, all he wants to do is snuggle and hug me which is nice but at the same time I want him to stay as far away from me as possible because I know that its only a matter of time until he gets what I have. I try to keep him away and occupied, the tv goes on with a movie playing, I give him juice, toys, anything he could possibly want and pray that he simply entertains himself. Usually as I’m about to doze off on the couch I get a face full of kid as he doesn’t understand personal space yet nor that mommy is sick and gross and can infect him and make his life miserable. I find the computer is a safe place for me to be, I can’t really fall asleep at me desk (although its happened before) and for the most part he’ll busy himself while I’m in my own domain. The couch is everyone’s residence so when mom is there its fair game.

 

I find even if/when my child DOES get sick he still has loads of energy, I wish I could say the same thing about myself. When I’m sick I shut down and really don’t want to do anything, hopefully this will pass before it hits him. If he does get sick I want to be able to have the energy to deal with an overactive sicky than die on the couch while he’s bouncing on top of me.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

