The Holidays

Since my husband never really celebrated many holidays while growing up its become very important to me that my child (and husband too) gets to experience the joy of them. I for one grew up in a household where Halloween was just as big as Christmas and where nobody was left out for Valentines Day, so its something that I want to keep up with my son.

 

With so many holidays coming up I strive to make them “fun” and memorable for my boy, even if he’s at the age where he’s really not going to remember them. Vanity Dad and I go out of our way to make sure we do “festive” things to the point where I’m sure we merely aggravate ourselves more than any of this is worth, I’m sure our child isn’t going to remember going to the great pumpkin patch, walking around the corn maze, and running and touching every pumpkin in sight, maybe its more the memories for us, stored in photo’s and videos.

 

This weekend we’re going to try and take in any local Halloween event that we can, does our 18 month old eat candy? No… Will his parents eat the candy? Most likely. Is it necessary that we dress our child up and parade him around with other children so he can get a few chocolate bars of which he might have a taste of one of them? I’m sure probably not. Yet again its about the memories and getting out of the house as a family.

 

I’m sure as the months move on we’ll take in plenty of Christmas events, we’ll put up a tree (with the non breakable stuff for another year) at least we know our son appreciates the lights (ANYTHING with lights is magical) We’ll do the visit to Santa Claus, we’ll pay the outrageous price for the photo’s in which will become Christmas gifts to the family, we’ll go sledding for the heck of it (which I’m sure he’ll love) and as the years progress we’ll have a holiday schedule (routine as you will) because the holidays are something that I want to cherish with my children. Eventually he’ll be able to look back and say “remember that time we drove forever just to go to that haunted science lab, that was great” but for now we’ll leave the scary stuff out and will have the memories of cliché’ photo’s by the hundreds which will serve our memories. Did he need to dress up for Halloween when he was six months old? No, but we did it anyways.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Holidays

  1. Alas, holidays weren’t that big of a deal when I was growing up either 😦

Leave a Reply

