Those Moments…

I know, I didn’t write again on Friday as I was working all day. It seems like when I have to go in during the morning and don’t get home until past 4 that an entry simply doesn’t happen. My apologies.

 

I love being a mom, don’t get my wrong but I fully believe that some moments are better than others… there are moments that you simply want to put your child in a box and send them away to Timbuktu and others where you want to squeeze and love them with all your might.

 

Yesterday I went out with my best friend, I’ve mentioned her before and will most likely bring her up again as her and I got pregnant pretty close together, her daughter is 2 and a half months older than my son. Yesterday morning I was having one of those mornings where I was ready to go to the UPS store and check in about shipping a 25lb item across the country (i.e. my son) He ended up breaking the safety latch to under the sink and I was fighting with him to stay out of it and so I called up my best friend asking about an adult lunch. You know the ones where you actually SIT in a restaurant and look at an actual menu instead of looking at a board, ordering and taking the food to your table.

 

We went to Red Robin’s which was dead (Sunday at 11am they’re just opening) we rejoiced and went on inside where we sat our kids in a booth and ordered. Her daughter was being an instigator, she was jumping up and down trying to reach the gaudy looking light hanging above us, I watched my friends eye twitch as I told my son to sit and not even think about it. As the meal progressed her daughter managed to fill her mouth with so much water that she sprayed it across the table in a steady stream soaking everything in her path (including me) I merely laughed as my friend looked like she was ready to pay the extra postage. My child wasn’t exactly 100% an angel as he thought it was okay to take his shoes off and drop them under the booth, the second time I took them away and allowed him to wear just his socks.

 

After getting a decent meal in us we took the kids out, we visited a pumpkin patch and then a playground with a huge field that had tons of trees bordering it. Being in the midst of fall all of the leaves had fallen off them and littered the ground so we took the kids to play in the leaves. That was one of those “live for” moments as my son grabbed the leaves and threw them in the air laughing and then tried to put the leaves back in the low hanging branch of one of the trees. The two of them played, chased each other, threw leaves at each other and simply made their mothers swoon in happiness that we had a perfect afternoon.

 

On arriving back home (my friend lives in the same townhouse complex as me… yeah I know weird hmmm?) we went into her yard which she started dragging things into the house, my child took her child’s buggy and started wheeling it around the yard, but when time came to go the temper tantrum which followed had me considering airmail to Mississippi.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

