Four Letter Words

The past month my son has become a little sponge, picking up everything that he hears and repeating it back, from duck, fish, barking back at a dog (with this I allowed him to bark for a minute and then ushered him back inside when I realized it was a very large pit-bull in the adjoining yard that who’s leash was merely staked to the ground with a flimsy metal rod) I’ve been trying to watch what I say as my husband and I have very filthy mouths, to put it bluntly we swear like two sailors that have been out at sea for years on end and shouldn’t be allowed to have kids anywhere near us while we’re beaking off.

 

I watch my mouth at work, I have never sworn at school in front of the kids (although there are days that I have gone into my office and mumbled a few four letter words) I watch my mouth while talking to business people… but the second I get home the muzzle comes off and I speak freely which now I have to censor myself around my son. I truly realized this the other night while we were doing our bedtime routine, hubby and I were sitting on the spare bed in the nursery, he pointed at his wooden mobile hanging on the ceiling fan, I twirled it and he began to laugh and smile, I sat back down next to him and asked “is that cool?” Simply because I’m an adult whom still speaks like a 16 year old, cool and awesome are still words that are in my daily speech pattern. My son looked up at me, smiled and repeated “its cool.” I laughed, my husband laughed and then we looked at each other in horror as we both realized now was the time that we had to REALLY watch ourselves, it could have easily been another four letter word. The last thing I need my kid doing is calling everything an ass or shit.

 

A few days have passed and everything is still “cool” I tell him “we’re going in the car” and I get “cool” instead of “okah.” I give him his drink and instead of the “tank ya” I get “is cool.” So I’m guessing everything will be “cool” for the next few weeks, which is better than the latter… but I’m sure it’ll come eventually where I’ll have to laugh as I blush embarrassingly stating “kids, where do they get this stuff from?” As the large imaginary arrow lights up above my head pointing at the culprit.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Developement, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four Letter Words

  1. I?m impressed, I need to say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that?s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient people are talking intelligently about. I’m very completely happy that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

Leave a Reply

