Cuteness Defence Mechanism

If I haven’t said it before I’ll say it again, and most likely repeat this a few times, I can understand why in the wild some animals eat their young. My son does things that will totally drive me nuts, like go into the bathroom, unlock the safety device on the drawers (thank God not the cupboards yet) and he’ll take EVERYTHING out of the drawer and bring it to me, so I’ll be sitting at a computer desk trying to work with make-up cases, brushes, and nail polish surrounding my monitor in a heap. When he’s done I ask him to put them back in which he makes his squawking noise while shaking his head no. I will put everything back in place in which the process will just repeat itself. This is a lesser annoyance, this is simply what he’s doing at this exact moment as I type.

 

I think the biggest annoyance is that for whatever reason the second I walk away from my PC my son sees it as opportune time to go bash on my keyboard, turn the computer off and take my computer chair for a trip around the house. I’ll come around the corner and call his name as I purse my lips trying not to yell at him and close my eyes and imagine that I’m on a nice and warm sunny beach. He knows that I’m annoyed, he knows that I am mad and that I tell him a million times a day to stay away from the computer, so he goes into defence mechanism mode. My son will smile at me, the biggest damndest cutest smile and run up to me with open arms going “Mommy!” and latch onto me with the biggest and best hug ever, leaving me totally defenceless myself to the point where my brain shuts off and I can’t remember what I was mad about.

 

Its annoying, and I am fully aware he does it but while he’s in the act of being cute there’s simply nothing I can do, I am powerless to that smile and that hug. How can you be mad at something that loves you so much? It’ll be a ploy for world domination, unfortunately this child is just like his mother whom could get away with murder because of his good looks… and that’s something I’d rather he didn’t learn but apparently its simple genetics as he’s already manipulated the heck out of his father and myself and he’s not quite yet a year and a half.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

