School Lessons

Major apologies for not updating yesterday, I was literally at work all day at the school, when I came home we went grocery shopping, had dinner, played with the kiddo, and then went to bed quite early because I was exhausted.

 

I find working with Kindergarten children has always been an interesting way of learning myself, I see so many different things through so many different children and through that I’ve been able to rather pick and choose what I will do and what I won’t do. In these delights I’ve faced a lot of surreal situations that I have shared with other parents. I have one little boy whom suffers from Autism, very slightly but it’s there, I spend about an hour to 45 minutes a day with him playing dominoes he’s excels at setting up the tracks and is quite precise about how far apart each domino is away from another. He’s teaching me things, where as many people would shy away from such a child I find him utterly delightful, yes he does have his moments but you simply have to explain things to him in easy steps in which he understands and he follows through. I recently had a meeting with a mother whom swore up and down that her child suffers from ADD or is slightly autistic due to the way he acts at home, I had to tell her that I simply didn’t see it, that he was well-behaved and on task at school, what I learned from that situation was that this child is rewarded with hours on end of entertainment through video games, he doesn’t go outside, he doesn’t get out, he merely sits and plays Mario all day. In my mind that would make ANY child restless.

 

I’ve learned about lunches, oh have I learned about lunches, like you need more than three small things in a lunchbox, variety is key because your child’s favourite snack might end up their least favourite the next day. Keep things simple, and if you child doesn’t like something by all means LISTEN to them or you’re going to get it back uneaten because there’s only so much magic a teacher can work, if your kid hates butter then DO NOT PUT BUTTER ON THEIR SANDWICH! Dear God even if its only a small bit they will find it and they will refuse to eat, there is no reasoning with that.

 

As cool as Spiderman backpacks are, they need to be functional, if they’re too small to fit anything then they’re worthless because you get stuck carrying everything anyways. I’ve watched the evolution of backpacks over the years and they’ve been shrinking, along with lunch boxes. You can’t get a sandwich and a juice box along with a bag of chips and an apple in those things anymore. Honestly when the time comes I might opt for a basic color in a larger bag and buy some cool iron on decals if need be or a cool key chain to put on the zipper. Oh and something else noteworthy, any bags that range from $20-$30 and are plastic last until November and then break.

 

Coats: Teachers will try to get your kids to wear their coats but the second they are out the door they have the freedom to take it off… your kids WILL take off their coats! The only solution that I have found to this problem is to dress them warm so they can survive without one until the snow flies, and then you can threaten them saying if they take the damn thing off that Santa will bring them nothing but socks.

 

And so there’s a peak into the work life of Vanity Mom and the lesson’s of which it has taught me.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Society and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

