Children’s Cartoons

It seems as we’re in the age where things have only advanced and gotten better, we’ve gone from block cell phones to iphones, we have faster computers, amazing social networking and yet we cannot re-create the amazing cartoons which once ran in the 90’s to entertain our children. No wonder today’s youth act like mindless zombies when they’re watching crap like Spongebob Squarepants. I’ve been keeping an eye on all the tv programs and really have to shake my head at them. I remember when I was little I loved watching the shows Inspector Gadget, Teddy Ruxpin, and Mr Dress-up. Later on as I grew it was Ghostbusters, Beetlejuice, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Sonic The Hedgehog. I remember programming which actually held a plot and at the end had a great lesson learned. There were morals to stories instead of stupidity.

 

Yes there is decent programming out there but you need to weed through the garbage like “Nearly Naked Animals”… yes I am not lying, that’s what its called, it plays on YTV and I have dodged it gracing my television thus far, to get to programs like The Berenstein Bears. I know there are learning channels and programs available but honestly those are just as bad somedays with the stupidity than the horrible shows like Spliced. Spliced boasts a character whom is part chicken, pig and cow and sucks on its own teets, no I am not lying, this is the crap that plays on TV these days. I think the most annoying part is that the programs play over and over 4 times a bloody day and that weekends hold no special bounds on what’s played. I remember back in the day where cartoons ran all day Saturday and Sunday and played once (which meant you had to get up at 6am if you didn’t want to miss your favourite show, or have your parents record it… yeah remember VHS recording?) Whatever happened to Disney afternoon with Tailspin, Goof Troop, and Darkwing Duck?

 

Luckily for me the television doesn’t hold my child’s attention, it’s pretty much background noise and most days I listen to music while my son runs around the house in circles “dancing.” The only movie that has yet to hold his attention is Tangled, I fully believe he’s in love with the princess Rapunzel as his eyes light up in awe whenever its on, he’ll sit with his blankey and stare at her with a huge smile on his face. Although I really wonder what values that movie teaches him. That your parents might have kidnapped you and that you’re really royalty? That painting on the walls is okay? Maybe that running away from home is a great life experience and that criminals make amazing life long friends? Hopefully he’ll just take the “follow your dreams” aspect away from it and that’ll be it.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

