What Does Vanity Mom Do?

Mother Nature a VanityMom piece

Too much some days… I’m not a stay at home mom, I work from home marketing and as an account manager for a local recycling company called Forever Green Recycling, so I make sure that we have ads up, put up flyers, update the site/blog/twitter/Facebook plus checking emails and taking phone calls about events that need clean-up, businesses that need recycling stations… ect. I usually do this in the morning as that’s when my son actually gives me some time online.

I work part-time at a local Elementary school (in the afternoons) I teach art, drama, gym, and do afterschool care and programming. I’m there everyday, daddy gets home and mom runs off to work. Its good money and its stable, I’ve been there for 7 years and quite enjoy it although there are days where I wonder if I’m friggan crazy to be working with kindergarteners and school aged children when I have a child at home. I work through the summer part-time for the afterschool programming summer camp so it always has me busy.

I do art commissions, art pieces for galleries as well as tattoo designs. I do this usually whenever I have a spare moment, there are days where my kitchen table is turned into an art attack mess disaster zone. I usually get a chance to do this when my son is in bed or in a mood where he’s playing and really doesn’t care what mommy is doing at the moment… doesn’t happen often (especially since he LOVES to rip up paper and quite a few times I’ve nearly choked out of anger with him grabbing and crumpling paper) so I do this when he’s not around.

I model locally, it’s a hobby job really. I do it on weekends when hubby is home after work, kiddo goes for a nap, daddy (who is a baker and writer) goes for a nap, and Vanity Mom goes and poses for a few hours.

On top of all of this I’m a mom, I change diapers, wipe up poop/vomit/boogers and mashed food. I do the mom things like take the kiddo to the park, walk the mall, have those “special” days. It’s all about time management, making moments count, getting as much as you can into a day, and still taking time for yourself to enjoy the process. No it’s not easy, and yes I wish there were more hours in a day… but I just have to make 24 hours work.

And as I created this post I was talking on Facebook, updating the Forever Green twitter, and started creating an online portfolio of my work.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Fashion, Time Management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

