Fall Beauty Mom

Well I don’t know about all of you but autumn decided to show up the other day, it went from 28c to 24 overnight, the clear sunny skies got traded in for overcast and even though it’s still hitting high to mid twenties during the day we’re hitting lows of 4 (bringing the frost) at night. I’ve always enjoyed fall, the colors of the leaves, the brisk fresh smelling air, even now I can say I don’t mind “bundling up” too much. The joys of dressing my little boy up in ever so cute jackets, runners, and hats makes it all the more fun taking my little fashion icon out (c’mon how can kids NOT be little fashion icons when you can buy their clothes in sets that match perfectly and get everything with them from shoes to hats?)

With this colder weather though mom’s need to take some extra time for themselves to make sure they MOISTURIZE! I can honestly say if I don’t keep it up that I suffer from cracked elbows. My suggestions: Splurge on a lovely body wash, Oil of Olay or Dove are beautiful brands which usually have high contents of moisturizer in them… if you’re taking a steamy hot shower or bath MAKE SURE TO CREAM YOURSELF IN, hot water can also dry out skin. Most mom’s already have Baby Oil on hand which does wonders, just pat your skin dry (so there’s still moisture) and rub yourself in. Don’t have Baby Oil? Jergens, Oil of Olay, Dove and Nivea work as well. ]

Be kind to your hands, with zipping up coats, boots, and doing anything with your hands the cold weather zaps the moisture right out of them. Wear gloves when its chilly outside and make sure to buff them with a good hand exfoiliator (regular exfoliator works too) then use some extra thick cream for those lovlies (hands and feet are made of tough skin so they need a little extra love when it comes to hand/foot cream.)

Another thing that never seems easy to deal with is static hair, use some hefty conditioner so you don’t wake up with floating locks. There are now leave in conditioners which will keep your hair behaved, I find brushes are the worst culprits so using a wide tooth comb usually keeps the static away. Already have static? Run a bounce sheet through your hair (yeah I know it sounds weird but it helps, and you’ll smell like fresh laundry) when everything else fails? I grab a cute scarf and tie it in my hair like a large headband.

So here’s to enjoying incredibly cute boots, comfy sweaters, cozy scarfs, and staying moisturized 🙂

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

