Dreaded Temper Tantrums

I had pre-planned a luncheon with an old guy friend (an ex actually whom I’ve kept a great relationship with) we were to meet up and enjoy actually talking to one another and having some face time… for whatever reason I simply didn’t want to drop my son off at my grandparents place so I decided to take him with us as he usually behaves quite well for outings. My guts were also feeling like crap due to the previous nights escapades of Mexican food so I suggested to my ex that we hit the mall food court in which he agreed just fine.
 
We talked as we walked, he made googly faces at my son(whom was in the buggy) and we made our way to the food court. We stopped at EB games where the kiddo started getting fussy, I tried to calm him but he was just being whiney. We beeline it to Orange Julius where I got him a strawberry smoothie in hopes and prayers he’s be content with that (or that he’d at least shut up so I could play catch up) well damn he fought with me over the smoothie… he didn’t understand that I had poured it into his sippy cup and wanted to drink from the big cup, finally I took the straw out of the big cup and moved it to his sippy cup where EUREKA he finally realized that the sippy cup contained the smoothie as well (after drinking what I had reserved for myself.)
 
We find a place to sit and I’m really hoping for a conversation but my son won’t have it, he tosses his cup on the floor… I fetch it and after the 3rd time I take it away in which he gets antsy… my friend and I have shared all of 5 sentences back and forth at this time so he finishes up quickly and we walk the mall,we run into Hallmark to grab his mom and birthday card (I helped him pick one out that wasn’t too tacky) while my son is barely hanging on by a thread, luckily there were some elderly ladies in there whom kept him entertained by waving and exclaiming “oh my god he’s just so cute and precious” (and on and on and on.)

Finally after Hallmark I take the kiddo out of the buggy and let him walk beside it, all is happy and well while my friend picks up some Whey Powder, I’m doing laps of the small store with my son while he makes the purchase, we walk out of the store and out of nowhere my little boy lets this blood curdling scream out and starts crying. I try to pick him up and console him but he’s having none of that, I check him over, everything is okay from what I see, smell his bum… all good there, his diaper is still fine. Well my poor ignored friend tells me he’s going to run in and out of London Drugs as fast as he can (which he makes good on his word) while I wrestle my screaming kid into his buggy… finally latched in I offer toys, drinks, food, keys… KEYS…SUNGLASSES… no, he wants nothing to do with them. I recline the stoller in thoughts that he’s tired, nope he wants to sit up. My ex comes out and we beeline it for the exit as people are staring at me and I get the “worst mother in the world” feeling as it seems that I cannot for the life of me control my kid. So here I am walking with out of the mall with the all time bachelor whom is swaying back and forth with the ideas of growing up eventually and I have a screaming child who is not letting up… its like trying to sell a car and having it blow up the second its driven up front for a test drive.

Finally he’s in the car and still my guy friend is making attempts to play peek-a-boo… he gets a few rare moments of smiles and back to screaming. At this point I roll my eyes and tell him not to bother… my toddler screams the entire way home, tears streaming as I focus on driving and my ex keeps looking back. I joke that after this he isn’t going to want to have kids (yay VanityMom poster mother for scaring the shit out of him so he’ll never wanna get laid again) he agrees, then disagrees, then says not anytime soon.

I drop him off and apologize… no need to apologize… of course not but still. So maybe between now and oh I don’t know… my birthday… I’ll get a chance to get together with him again and actually have a real face to face conversation, next time Dante will for sure be left out of the plans (as much as it pains me to “leave him out” I’m sure he’d be happier with Omi and Opi than in a resteraunt) oi.

 

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreaded Temper Tantrums

  1. Jessica says:

    OMG! You’re the only other person I’ve seen (who doesn’t live in Germany) who calls grandparents Omi and Opi!! Love it!

  2. vanitymom says:

    They’re from Germany and it was one of those things that stuck, even with my son it isn’t “great” grandma and grandpa its Omi and Opi.

Leave a Reply

