Its A Boy Thing

Oh the irony as I was just about to post this my son decided it would be a good thing to bring his mom the lid to the garbage can… that as I sit here contemplating making coffee that the one thing I wanted in my lap this morning was that disgusting lid, and as I took it back and deposited BACK onto the garbage can he actually looked offended that I didn’t like his gift…  

My best friend and I ironically got pregnant right around the same time… actually there was nothing ironic about it, it was yet another thing that we had planned although she had been trying for months ahead of time (9 to be exact) I figured I might end up pregnant first when we started “trying.” She ended up knocked up two and a half months before me, I was looking forward to trying and enjoying the nookie for a few solid months but like my life story EVERYTHING I do has to be fast and right away. We were pregnant 3rd try… fast forward a year later, my friend had a little girl… I got the little boy that I was dreaming of (yes I prayed for a boy, I DID NOT want to give birth to myself incarnate on the first child.)

 

Present day I sit and watch our children play together and I cannot help but spot EVERY sexist difference between our children. Her little girl sits gracefully on chairs all prim and proper on her little fold out couch while my son while executing getting onto the couch cannot simply go around and sit on it, he has to crawl straight over top of the back part and flop down. While my friend’s little girl is snuggling and hugging everything that can be held my child is trying to push it like a truck.

 

While clothes shopping my friend’s daughter is entranced by anything pink and sparkly and pretty while my son is trying to push the clothing racks. At the park he’s not about the swing, he wants to be in the rocks getting dirty and throwing them, when he’s outside he magically attracts dirt and comes inside stained head to toe even though he was merely out on the deck.

 

My friend’s daughter gives kisses while my boy wants to wrestle, she’ll find a dolly in the room while he’ll find anything that has wheels. I think it’s programmed into males heads that wheels mean they can push/pull and be in control (unless its “Chuck” the Dump Truck which my son has screamed at NUMEROUS times because he’s driven away from him… in which Chuck get’s put on his side so he can’t escape my child’s clutches.) I’m morbidly curious to see when we do decide to have another one and IF I have a girl how different things will truly be. For now I LOVE having a little boy, I love having a little monster terrorize the house… and really, I wasn’t ready to give up my throne and have a princess (the idea of another one of me ruling the roost is rather scary.)

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

