Mom Wins

As I was sitting at my computer my son came and grabbed the paper from a straw, I watched him as he took it, ripped it up into little pieces and threw them in the air and watched them hit the floor. I called him over and pointed to a piece of paper and said “can mommy have?” he then pointed to the piece of paper and said “that?” I then said “yes, that, can mommy have?” I placed my hand out in front of me and lowered it so he could pick it up and put it in my hand, he did just that and I praised him saying good boy, thank-you! I then pointed to another piece and asked for it… yet again we repeated the process… “that?” “yes that, can mommy have?” in all put three pieces did he gladly put into my hand. By the time I hit the third last piece I’m sure he was asking himself why the hell he was cleaning up the mess he just made at his mother’s demand and so he started asking “that?” “yes that, can mommy have?” “this?” pointing to the piece of paper, “yes, can mommy have” in which he would grunt and stomp his feet at me (I’ve figured you out mom and no you can’t have the paper!) Although this was a bump in the road I was determined to win this, I wanted the mom wins trophy that all mom’s picture in their head as they battle wits with their children.

I find repetition works best in these situations so I put the scraps that were in my hand on the desk and asked for more paper pieces, finally after more “this?” “yes that…” “that?” “yes that….” he was making me work for it now, if he had to bend down and pick up the paper then I was going to repeat myself until I was blue in the face… but I was proving a point. There was a moment where I asked myself why the heck did I care about the paper on the floor when there were two Elmo dolls, the stupid Fisher Price Dog, and Chuck The Dump Truck along with half a dozen foam blocks scattered from the computer to the center of the room. It was because he had taken the paper and deliberately ripped it up and made a mess. After repeating myself to the point where my husband was chuckling at me continuously asking and my son having a million other responses other than handing the paper over and placing it in my hand. I finally got two of the three remaining in my hand. I looked at the last one on the floor, he picked it up ready to hand it to me and dropped it on the floor, (HA MOM YOU’RE NOT GETTING THIS ONE) I asked several times but he continued to tease me with it, so being content with what I had (I would have to clean up later anyways) I said thank-you to him and turned back around in my computer chair in which he broke down and finally gave me the remaining piece of paper. Mom wins J

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

