Tired Is An Easy Excuse

Today I am indeed a tired mom, my son didn’t want to go to bed last night as there’s excitement in the house with my mother-in-law visiting, so the past few nights he’s wanted to stay up and have extra attention from her. My husband then allowed him to get up at 7am which means both of them are going to be absolutely LOVELY to deal with today. I’m sitting at the computer while my son is being loved and my husband is zoning out over coffee and all I want to do is go back to bed.

Today I will put a little extra eye cream under my eyes, my lipstick will be a little brighter and I’m sure I’ll have an extra cup of coffee… but I’ll be damned if I allow myself to slip into “tired mom mode.” I will still get dressed and look stylish, I will still do my make-up, hair, and on the exterior I’ll be peppy even if on the inside I’m groaning “brrraaaaiiiinnnnssss.” I think in life it’s all about how you present yourself, yeah we all have those days but the tired mom mode is an easy excuse that I think some mom’s slip into. They just want to be comfy so they wear sweatpants, they’re hoping for a nap in the afternoon so they don’t wear make-up, and they literally walk like the reincarnated living dead.

Yes we’re all tired, we all want to ship our kids in a big crate around the world so we can get some sleep but unfortunately that just simply isn’t happening… just think when they’re teenagers you can sleep as much as they do or you can revel in the sweet revenge of waking their asses up with the vacuum cleaner (because we all know you need to vacuum your house at 9am) Either way sleep IS coming, it might be a few years down the road but you’ll get it again. Until then I enjoy the challenge of looking like I’m wide awake while my mind is on that channel that’s off air with the colorful bars and annoying beep tone.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tired Is An Easy Excuse

  1. Jen As Herself says:

    I hear you! I’ve just come out of an insomniac rut where I was only getting 3-4 hours sleep each night. One of the only things that kept me positive was showering, putting on a dress or skirt, makeup and blow dry. I’d have never left the house otherwise and slouched around miserable all day long. And you’re so right … sleep always comes.

Leave a Reply

