Talk To Me Baby

My little boy is learning more words everyday but I must say that I’m starting to tire of the two that come out of his mouth more frequently than the drool “what’s that?” and “up.” I would appreciate “what’s that” if he actually pointed specifically to something instead of open palming to the world, so I tell him every damn day as we walk to the car “what’s that?” “that’s a bush” (the same bush that was there an hour ago, yesterday and last week) Something’s he picks up quickly, like he knows that my parents dog is a dog… we went to the Koi garden and he asked all but three times before he was calling them fish… so why everyday does he ask me about the bushes? More annoyingly about the lights, EVERY light in EVERY HOUSE, STORE, CAR, and on the street. “What’s that?” So every time I sigh, inhale and reply “that’s a light” they’re simply his most favourite things in the world for whatever reason. At his great grandparents place he’ll spend hours on end turning the lights on and off or tell his great-grandmother “up” and she’ll pack him around for hours.

 

I especially love when he’s in a mood, crying, whining and I pick him up and magically the tears stop, he’ll point to the sky and say “up” where I tell him that yes indeed he is up… but no… he wants the lights, so I’ll turn on the lights a few times, point to them and say “lights” as he continues “up, up, up” and then mom will get tired of lugging this kid around and put him “DOWN” and he’ll cry again and then if he really wants to get me he’ll throw in the big guns “mum mum mum” as he whines. I’m still waiting for the no stage, I think I’d rather “no” than high pitched squeals and screams. At least there’s compliance with “okay” which is more like (oh ka)

 

I know I’m “rushing” things with wanting him to speak because suddenly I’ll be hearing everything that’s on this kid’s mind which can be a dangerous thing. A best friend of mine whom has a 4 year old told me to enjoy the peace and quiet because some days the stupidest stuff comes out of your kids mouth and you have no idea how to take it. This one time in particular while I was walking with her, her daughter and my son in his buggy at the mall her daughter innocently turned to me and said “excuse me, your butt moves when you walk” I laughed, how hilarious that she observed such a thing in which her mom said “everybody’s butt’s move when they walk” in which her darling little girl replied “not your’s mommy” indeed my friend was wearing a hoodie tied over her waist. Clever Girl!

 

So I’ll take the mumbles that sound like arguments for now, I’ll continue with the screaming diaper changes since he doesn’t say no, and I’ll remember this entry when that two letter word finally DOES rear its ugly head.

About vanitymom

I'm here to talk about not only the joys of motherhood but also the (not so much joys) of living in a high society world that you're judged upon your looks... where I live you need to be a 7 to gain beach access, an 8 to walk around half naked in the summertime and atleast a 9 to hold your head up high. I'm Vanity Mom. I will be talking about things such as parenting (of course) beauty tips for moms, exercise, and eating healthy... all while doing this with a kid biting the hell out of your leg because he's teething.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

